A legend of brutal shredding as well as technical craftsmanship that needs no introduction. However, it should be noted that for this stronghold of New York death metal, a time for serious changes has come. Suffocation’s ninth album, “Hymns from the Apocrypha”, will hit the shelves this November. This is the band’s first record with their new vocalist, Ricky Myers. The fact that he spits hellfire has already been established with the singles and live concerts, so we rest assured that no one will make it through their gig in one piece.


The band was formed in 1988 in Long Island, New York. Their first full-length record, “Effigy of the Forgotten”, was a revolution that redefined death metal. This first album, as well as those that followed, such as “Breeding the Spawn and Pierced from Within”, solidified Suffocation’s position as pioneers and technical masters of brutal death metal. The band went on a hiatus in the mid-90s and made their comeback in 2004 with the album “Souls to Deny”. The guitarist Terrance Hobbs has remained the leader of the band, though recently there’s been an important change in the line-up. Ricky Myers replaced Frank Mullen as the vocalist, recording the vocals for Suffocation’s latest album “Hymns from the Apocrypha”.


Studio albums:

Effigy of the Forgotten, 1991
Breeding the Spawn, 1993
Pierced from Within, 1995
Souls to Deny, 2004
Suffocation, 2006
Blood Oath, 2009
Pinnacle of Bedlam, 2013
…of the Dark Light, 2017
Hymns from the Apocrypha, 2023


Human Waste, 1991
Despise the Sun, 1998


Reincremated, 1990


Surgery of Impalement, 2004
As Grace Descends, 2012
Your Last Breaths, 2017
Return to the Abyss, 2017


Breaking Barriers Vol. 1, 1991 (z Immolation, Pestilence i Solitude Aeternus)
Live Death, 1994 (z Malevolent Creation, Exhorder i Cancer)

Live albums:

The Close of a Chapter: Quebec City Live 2005, 2005
Live in North America, 2021


Effigy of the Forgotten / Pierced from Within, 2003
The Best of Suffocation, 2008